The Pacific Crest Trail 2014

darlene

Welcome to my Pacific Crest Trail journal. The decision to hike this scenic wonder evolved over a period of two years. I had been backpacking for many years but had never been out for more than 17 days at a time. Reading the stories of others captivated my interest to experience it for myself. I have the time and the desire. Knowing that this trail will be the most physically demanding endeavor I’ve attempted makes it all the more exciting. I also expect it to be mentally challenging and spiritually rewarding. All of this makes me want it. I’m at a place in my life where I am ready There are some links on this site that will give you some background on the PCT as well as maps should you want to know exactly where I am. I will do my best to give you a sense of what I am experiencing. The trail may be 2663 miles long but it is only two feet wide. This means that I will share the trail with others and hope to also share some of the community of people with you. I hope you hear me rejoice in nature’s voice!

I have tried to embrace the “ultralight” gear philosophy as best I can. My “base weight” will be around 13 pounds. That is everything except food and water. My tent weighs 19 ounces and will withstand what Mother Nature gives me. My sleeping bag weighs 20 ounces. You get the point. There will be stretches through the desert of southern California where I will have to carry 4-5 liters of water so keeping other items at a minimum is crucial. The theory is “Don’t pack your fears”. I have arranged many food drops that will be mailed ahead and will also buy food along the way. The trail is not always in the wilderness. And, I won’t be passing up town food or the opportunity to get a bed and shower in towns!

I will be limited to writing on my phone but I will do my best to keep you interested. I also hope to have something to look back on that captured what I was feeling. I feel gratitude to my family and local friends that have encouraged and supported my dream into becoming a reality. This isn’t for everyone. In fact many people have responded, “You’re crazy!” when I tell them of my plans. Hence my trail name is Poco Loco.

Stay tuned!

15 thoughts on “The Pacific Crest Trail 2014

  1. I know you can and will do this. My thoughts and prayers are with you every step. I’m looking forward to your progress reports, etc. Darlene enjoy yourself along the way. God bless you my long time friend along your way.

  2. You’ve got guts, girl! Best wishes, lots of prayers and can’t wait to see pics and read your story! You know your Ktown friends/family are behind you! (well, I’ll be obversving from the comfort of my back yard/pool ….LOL). God speed.

  3. Praying God’s strength to carry you through this journey. I am excited for you and look forward to following you through out the trip. Raiders Forever.

  4. I am SOOOO bummed that I’ll be out of town when you come through. But I’ll be following your adventures – doing this hike vicariously through you. You are such an inspiration. Good luck – I hope all goes well!

  5. This is amazing Darlene! Is the best way for people to meet you on the trial to plan on being at your food pick ups or do you know roughly how long you will be in each area and people can plan around that? PS. LOVE the trail name

    • Hey Vicks! I sent my tentative itinerary to Cary. But it’s hard to know where I will take zero days. (no hiking) I suspect Mammoth and Lake Tahoe for sure! Would love company!

    • It’s so hard to say where I will be when. I can receive texts and voicemail when I have cell service and would love to see people along the way. Also, if I am at a place where I can leave the trail I would really love to be at your wedding! You guys ooze love and celebrating that would be awesome!
      Poco

  6. Call if you are going to have a bit of time in Canada. I am spending the next 5.5 months in British Columbia on Vancouver Island in the Comox area. Would love to see you if you have the time.

  7. I am excited for you, Darlene! I know you can do this and I expect a published book at some point in the future. I’ll cheer for two for the Giants while you are on your adventure. My prayers are with you.
    Hugs!

Leave a comment