Kick Off Party

My tribe is at the AZDPCTKO. Funny word which stands for Annual Zero Day Pacific Crest Trail Kick Off. There are perhaps 500 people here at the Lake Morena County Park celebrating the trail and each other. Throughout the day there have been talks about managing the desert, wildlife. Flora, water, snow conditions , overuse injuries and foot care. The atmosphere has been upbeat and full of chatter all day with many previous hikers here telling their stories. Dinner was veggie burritos and most meals are provided free all weekend. Right now a movie is being shown on a huge outdoor screen made of Tyvek but I am snug in my tent. Rain is expected all night and lasting until noon. It’s in the low 40’s but shouldn’t get much colder. I’m toasty warm and just praying I don’t have to pee in the middle of the night! We have had perfect weather so far so I’ll just take what comes this evening and be grateful that I’m warm, fed, safe and happy.
Most everyone has a trail name–or soon will. There are several reasons for them. First, the names are so unique it is clear who you are referring to. Many people get their names because of something dumb or just funny that happened. Like Tumbleweed. She was trying to pee without taking off her pack and fell onto her back like an upside down turtle. Monsoon went for a hike with a clear forecast and had nonstop rain for a week. Or Williwaw, a sailor, named for a wind that blows from the coast to the mountains. Beowolf has a three year beard that he can style to form the letters PCT. It’s a fun cast of characters that I’m meeting every day. Also, people get to assume any identity they chose separate from their real life. The trail though is a remarkable equalizer. It doesn’t maturer how much money you have or who you know. No one is hauling you up that mountain or across the desert. You do it on your own. I know we will be anxious to get back to the trail on Sunday. Our ride isn’t picking us up until 7:30 Sunday morning and it is at least a five hour drive back to Mile 342 where we left the trail. If possible we will get at least some miles in on Sunday.

The music soundtrack for the movie is great and I’m enjoying it as I snuggle in my bag. Night all!

2 thoughts on “Kick Off Party

  1. You are soooo cooool. The posts of been fun and inspiring. I an whining about a little rain and the 60 mile Wine Country Century. Hope you will still be friends with Sissies when you get back! xxoo, E

Leave a comment